This is where the river bearing the same name comes out of its picturesque small canyon.
The monastery dates back to the 13th century when Serbian king Dragutin Nemanjić erected it. It was destroyed twice throughout history while today’s appearance originates from 1835.
This is where the renowned Miroslav Gospel was kept during WWII, the oldest 12th-century Serbian book. King Dragutin remains are also kept at the monastery. The famous school was here, at about 40-minute-walk up the Rača river where monks were copying important manuscripts but also drawing decorative book illustrations. The school was closed in 1690.
The story goes that monk Hadži-Melentije asked the sultan in Istanbul in the 17th century to allow the monks to rebuild the monastery. He allegedly put his finger on the map saying that they can get as much territory as his finger covers. And so, they ended up with about 1,000 hectares. This is the reason why the settlement Kaludjerske Bare in Tara bears such an interesting name – Monks’ Ponds in Serbian.